Wearing a shirt, clinging to my soldier.

While discussing family problems with a close friend last night, she said the words that I have been thinking since reading “Offbeat Bride”.

“Fuck bridesmaids, Momma, you need bouncers. If I can wear sequins AND a holster i think the space time continuum will give a few shivers. You could always just take me on the next outing, I’m built for ego smashing. Don’t let those idiots piss you off. Let them make you laugh.” (Yes Rachel, I quoted you. That’s how awesome you are)

After two hours of being cold shoulder ignored by my half husbands family, I totally agree. I left the place in tears because no one said a damn word to me.

Moving on, we looked at some rings and found a design that blew my mind away. Two white sapphires (I hate diamonds. Just plain and simple) on either side of a larger blue sapphire. The meaning behind it was evident to me; the past and future are meaningless and useless, but the present is here, and means everything. Kinda clashes with the sapphires meaning of “Your dreams will come true” but who cares.

Then we found a gorgeous dress at a local store going out of business. It was a tight bodice, rouched so the fabric kinda folded in the center with a ribbon under the breasts and the skirt was plain. The entire dress in a slightly offwhite.

I fell in love.

And its kinda weird cause here I am, this crazy, regular offbeat “half wife” and yet, I am throwing away my cocktail, petticoated dream dress in my head and seeing myself in this window dress which I totally haven’t made by hand.

Too weird.

Then we formulated names for other positions (seen in title of this post) and determined that my bridebouncers will play the part of the Sith, and Matts groomsnipers will play the part of Jedi.

Anyone else sense an epic battle on the dancefloor?

I mean, we can play Sandstorm to this shit. Choreograph it.

Oh dang, now I’m all excited.

But the funfacts go as this:

Matt and I have been looking in ring stores. He says “All the times I have said NO to you, I was due for a YES.”
We also saw said epic dress in the window. I had glanced at it when he was with me, and stared when he wasn’t but he admitted he liked it WITHOUT PRODDING
We bought his brothers birthday gift. (Ps, AJ? Mine is the funny one. You’ll understand soon.)
I have lost my idea notebook as of this morning. If anyone sees a Tinkerbell notebook full of blue pen, and it says my name on it, GIVE IT BACK!

And a shameless plug for a book I love:

“Offbeat Bride; Creative Alternatives for Independent Brides” – Ariel Meadow Stallings

Leave a Reply

